Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hydro Fan

Hey all,
    I did some searching here before deciding to write this post.
    I need to replace my hydro fan on my 123. I know there are a few types of replacements, I've heard of some that are softer than others in case something touches them. I've also heard that there are more than one way to do the replacement. I'd like the easiest/best procedure for this, if that combination exists. I'm a newbie to this so step-by-step wouldn't hurt my feeling at all. My garage is fairly limited for work like this, but I do have a set of automotive ramps that I thought I would make use of. Also any tips so that I don't break or damage anything would be great. Thanks!

Hi Joe!

As far as I know there is only one replacement fan for the 123 from CCC, and it is going to be a plastic fan. The original one would have been steel. You may be able to yet find a steel fan from vendors such as ihccw. I wouldn't worry too much about damage to the fan because a 123 has a shroud that goes around it. Unless you really get something in there, like a stick, it's pretty protected.

I strongly suggest checking the driveshaft over along with all the other components while you have it out to replace the fan. That is an old unit and the driveshaft is likely worn, along with the pins, couplers and rag joints. The driveshaft and any of the "hard" parts can be purchased from our member JeffinPA. To contact him, just click the link in the red navigation bar above, "Parts by Jeff". The fan, rag joints and pins can be obtained from CCC. Be sure to use the solid pins for the 123 and not the spirol pins used by later models.